Inside Simon Han’s suburban dreamscape

Inside Simon Han’s suburban dreamscape

Subscribe
Apple | Google | Spotify | Stitcher

or listen below

Simon Han’s debut book Nights When Nothing Happened tells you exactly what the book is about. Except, “nothing happening” is in the eye of the beholder. The novel, about a Chinese immigrant family living in Plano, Texas, is as equally quiet as it is thrilling. The project started as a short story about a young girl who begins sleepwalking that spiraled into one of the best novels of the year.

Continue reading “Inside Simon Han’s suburban dreamscape”

A Life of Books with Lucie Britsch, author of Sad Janet

A Life of Books with Lucie Britsch, author of Sad Janet

Lucie Britsch‘s Sad Janet follows the titular character as she works in a run down dog shelter. She’s an anxious cynic who has a passive-aggressive boyfriend and a nosy family. Her life changes when she discovers a pill that provides instant happiness. In all, Sad Janet is a hilarious look into depression. Fans of Miranda July and Melissa Broder will find comfort in Britsch’s writing and viewpoint.

Continue reading “A Life of Books with Lucie Britsch, author of Sad Janet”

How Amy Jo Burns found herself again in her debut novel Shiner

How Amy Jo Burns found herself again in her debut novel Shiner

Amy Jo Burns 2014 memoir, Cinderland, allowed the world into her childhood. She revealed how one lie could ruin everything. She won over readers with the raw honesty that oozed from her beautiful sentences. Now, in her debut novelShiner, she builds off her skilled writing and transports readers into a West Virginia town where a young girl must defy her father to survive.

Continue reading “How Amy Jo Burns found herself again in her debut novel Shiner”

Poet Souvankham Thammavongsa turns her eye to a debut story collection

Poet Souvankham Thammavongsa turns her eye to a debut story collection

Souvankham Thammavongsa has released four poetry collections to high acclaim, including 2019’s Cluster. The same year, she also won an O. Henry Award for her short story “Slingshot.” The author, who was born in Thailand and rasied in Canada, has turned her eye away from poetry long enough to put together an emotional and personal story collection that features that award-winning story.

Continue reading “Poet Souvankham Thammavongsa turns her eye to a debut story collection”

Digital Book Tour – Leslie Gray Streeter, Black Widow

Digital Book Tour – Leslie Gray Streeter, Black Widow

With so many author tours being canceled, Debutiful has invited any author who had events canceled or postponed due to COVID-19 to do a reading and a brief interview as part of the Digital Book Tour podcast series.

Apple | Google | Spotify | Stitcher

Continue reading “Digital Book Tour – Leslie Gray Streeter, Black Widow”