6 debut books you should read this September

6 debut books you should read this September

Each month, Debutiful will recommend a handful of buzzworthy and under-the-radar debut books for you to read.

It’s already September? Gone are the dog days of a summer. Most of which we all probably spent in doors. Autumn is usually a time for cozy books to come out to curl up as the weather drops. This year is no different when it comes to literary releases, but the whole world feels different. The Covid-19 pandemic is far from over. An American election feels like a turning point for the future of mankind. Countless acts of racism and murders of Black people by police. All of these things deserve our attention.

If you need to escape for a few hours a day, try these debut books. Below you’ll find stories from abroad, thrillers, and down right beautiful prose.

Continue reading “6 debut books you should read this September”

Kate Reed Petty is out to find the truth in True Story

Kate Reed Petty is out to find the truth in True Story

Rumors, assault, trauma, and misogyny are swirling around the pages fo True Story by Kate Reed Petty. In 2015, Alice is a reclusive writer haunted by her own story. Over 15 years prior, in the confines of an elite high school, a rumor is started and no one is quite sure what to make of it.

Continue reading “Kate Reed Petty is out to find the truth in True Story”

A Life of Books with Lucie Britsch, author of Sad Janet

A Life of Books with Lucie Britsch, author of Sad Janet

Lucie Britsch‘s Sad Janet follows the titular character as she works in a run down dog shelter. She’s an anxious cynic who has a passive-aggressive boyfriend and a nosy family. Her life changes when she discovers a pill that provides instant happiness. In all, Sad Janet is a hilarious look into depression. Fans of Miranda July and Melissa Broder will find comfort in Britsch’s writing and viewpoint.

Continue reading “A Life of Books with Lucie Britsch, author of Sad Janet”

Diane Zinna on the ins and outs of publishing The All-Night Sun

Diane Zinna on the ins and outs of publishing The All-Night Sun

Diane Zinna‘s The All-Night Sun is a luminous story about love, grief, desire, and truth. Set at a small college in Washington, D.C. and during midsummer in Sweden, the novel follows a professor entangled with an enigmatic student and her brooding brother. As the teacher lets her inhibitions go, she must also grapple with tragedy that has engulfed her in the past.

Continue reading “Diane Zinna on the ins and outs of publishing The All-Night Sun”

Kelli Jo Ford’s crooked path to publishing Crooked Hallelujah

Kelli Jo Ford’s crooked path to publishing Crooked Hallelujah

Kelli Jo Ford didn’t intend for Crooked Hallelujah to be a novel. At first she was just writing stories about Cherokee women who came to her. After a few stories, she realized they were all interconnected and the women were in the same family. These were stories she had to write.

Continue reading “Kelli Jo Ford’s crooked path to publishing Crooked Hallelujah”

John Fram’s The Bright Lands is the queer, supernatural thriller the world needs right now

John Fram’s The Bright Lands is the queer, supernatural thriller the world needs right now

Subscribe
Apple | Google | Spotify | Stitcher

or listen below

John Fram pulled from his own experiences as an outsider in rural Texas and his obsession with crime novelists like Mary Higgins Clark to create The Bright Lands. The novel is one of the most original takes on modern noir I have ever read. Now living in New York, Fram has written for a variety of publications, including The New York Times and The Atlantic. He recently had an opinion in the Times entitled “How White Crime Writers Justified Police Brutality.”

Continue reading “John Fram’s The Bright Lands is the queer, supernatural thriller the world needs right now”

Sanaë Lemoine on France, teenagers, and creating The Margot Affair

Sanaë Lemoine on France, teenagers, and creating The Margot Affair

Sanaë Lemoine has lived all over the globe. When she was creating The Margot Affair, a specific time and place kept calling to her. Thus, Margot was born as a seventeen year old living in Paris.

Margot is on the cusp of adulthood when she decides to change the course of her own life, and as a result changes the trajectory of all of her relatives’ lives. When she reveals she is the secret daughter of a politician and a famous actress, her secret world is unspooled and readers get to watch as the wall of lies built up around her comes tumbling down.

Continue reading “Sanaë Lemoine on France, teenagers, and creating The Margot Affair”

Zaina Arafat subverts expectations in You Exist Too Much

Zaina Arafat subverts expectations in You Exist Too Much

Subscribe
Apple | Google | Spotify | Stitcher

or listen below

Zaina Arafat is a Palestinian-American whose work has appeared in The New York Times, Granta, Washington Post, and more of the most prestigious media outlets in America. She also holds an M.A. in international affairs from Columbia University and an M.F.A. from Iowa where she also taught writing. Additionally, she has taught at The School of the New York Times, the International Writing Program and Sackett Street Writers, as well as abroad in Jordan, Egypt and Eritrea.

Continue reading “Zaina Arafat subverts expectations in You Exist Too Much”

Digital Book Tour – Carter Sickels, The Prettiest Star

Digital Book Tour – Carter Sickels, The Prettiest Star

With so many author tours being canceled, Debutiful has invited any author who had events canceled or postponed due to COVID-19 to do a reading and a brief interview as part of the Digital Book Tour podcast series.

Apple | Google | Spotify | Stitcher

Continue reading “Digital Book Tour – Carter Sickels, The Prettiest Star”