A Life of Books with Lucie Britsch, author of Sad Janet

A Life of Books with Lucie Britsch, author of Sad Janet

Lucie Britsch‘s Sad Janet follows the titular character as she works in a run down dog shelter. She’s an anxious cynic who has a passive-aggressive boyfriend and a nosy family. Her life changes when she discovers a pill that provides instant happiness. In all, Sad Janet is a hilarious look into depression. Fans of Miranda July and Melissa Broder will find comfort in Britsch’s writing and viewpoint.

Continue reading “A Life of Books with Lucie Britsch, author of Sad Janet”

Byron Lane’s A Star is Bored is a hilarious ode to Carrie Fisher

Byron Lane’s A Star is Bored is a hilarious ode to Carrie Fisher

Like most writers and actors trying to make it in Hollywood, Byron Lane was a celebrity’s personal assistant. Not just any celebrity, though. He was the assistant to Princess Leia herself, the late, great Carrie Fisher.

Continue reading “Byron Lane’s A Star is Bored is a hilarious ode to Carrie Fisher”

Diane Zinna on the ins and outs of publishing The All-Night Sun

Diane Zinna on the ins and outs of publishing The All-Night Sun

Diane Zinna‘s The All-Night Sun is a luminous story about love, grief, desire, and truth. Set at a small college in Washington, D.C. and during midsummer in Sweden, the novel follows a professor entangled with an enigmatic student and her brooding brother. As the teacher lets her inhibitions go, she must also grapple with tragedy that has engulfed her in the past.

Continue reading “Diane Zinna on the ins and outs of publishing The All-Night Sun”

For Leah Hampton, F*ckface is all about location, location, location (and a lot of weird characters)

For Leah Hampton, F*ckface is all about location, location, location (and a lot of weird characters)

Subscribe
Apple | Google | Spotify | Stitcher

or listen below

Leah Hampton’s short story collection F*fuckface has the best book title of the years. Hands down. While you can’t judge a book by its cover – or title – you can judge it by its content. And holy cow, F*ckface goes there.

Continue reading “For Leah Hampton, F*ckface is all about location, location, location (and a lot of weird characters)”

Kelli Jo Ford’s crooked path to publishing Crooked Hallelujah

Kelli Jo Ford’s crooked path to publishing Crooked Hallelujah

Kelli Jo Ford didn’t intend for Crooked Hallelujah to be a novel. At first she was just writing stories about Cherokee women who came to her. After a few stories, she realized they were all interconnected and the women were in the same family. These were stories she had to write.

Continue reading “Kelli Jo Ford’s crooked path to publishing Crooked Hallelujah”

John Fram’s The Bright Lands is the queer, supernatural thriller the world needs right now

John Fram’s The Bright Lands is the queer, supernatural thriller the world needs right now

Subscribe
Apple | Google | Spotify | Stitcher

or listen below

John Fram pulled from his own experiences as an outsider in rural Texas and his obsession with crime novelists like Mary Higgins Clark to create The Bright Lands. The novel is one of the most original takes on modern noir I have ever read. Now living in New York, Fram has written for a variety of publications, including The New York Times and The Atlantic. He recently had an opinion in the Times entitled “How White Crime Writers Justified Police Brutality.”

Continue reading “John Fram’s The Bright Lands is the queer, supernatural thriller the world needs right now”

A Life of Books with Catherine Adel West, author of Saving Ruby King

A Life of Books with Catherine Adel West, author of Saving Ruby King

Saving Ruby King by Catherine Adel West is about the beauty, grit, and violence of Chicago. When the titular Ruby’s mother is killed in her home in Chicago’s South Side, she knows her father is at fault. Yet, she must still live with him as she mourns, grapples with his violence, and comes-of-age.

Continue reading “A Life of Books with Catherine Adel West, author of Saving Ruby King”

The 12 Best Debuts of 2020 (So Far)

The 12 Best Debuts of 2020 (So Far)

This year hasn’t gone the way any of us thought it’d go. One thing that we can always count on is a crop of debut and emerging writers to produce delectable books. 

So many stellar books came out in the first half of 2020 that I had trouble narrowing it down. The books featured on this list are the ones that I have recommended or have thought about the most. Of course, there are so many delectable books that were left off this list. Like I always say: art is subjective.

Here are the dozen debuts that I feel everyone should pick up at one point this year.

Continue reading “The 12 Best Debuts of 2020 (So Far)”